(formerly Donal O’Kelly Productions)
Catalpa header image

Catalpa - Springtide Tour 2015

Catalpa

A classic of modern Irish theatre, Catalpa is the story of the daring 1876 whaleship rescue of six Irish prisoners from Fremantle penal colony in Australia - all in the vibrant imagination of a screenwriter, the best movie never made! Catalpa is about heroes and visionaries, political intrigue and personal loyalty, with hot romance, mixed-up rebels and battles at sea.

Catalpa is a subversive epic, a celebration of the power of live theatre, “lyrical and passionate, satirical and very funny” (Irish Times)

Since its premiere 20 years ago, Catalpa has toured the world to high acclaim, including New York, Chicago, Paris, Geneva, Helsinki and Harare Zimbabwe.


Scotsman Fringe First Award Edinburgh; Best Event Melbourne

“A rip-roaring one-man adventure” Washington Post

“Brilliant unravelling of the heroic epic .. a masterpiece” Scotsman

“Marvellous feat” Herald Sun Melbourne

“Rollicking, absorbing epic” Washington Times

“Brilliant writing, bravura performance” Sunday Times

“An improbably beautiful show” Variety USA

Written and performed by Donal O’Kelly.

Live music by Trevor Knight.

Tour Dates

Fri 16 Jan Lyric Belfast

Sat 17 Jan Lyric Belfast

Thurs 22 Jan Wexford Arts Centre

Sun 25 Jan The Mill Dundrum

Mon 26 Jan The Mill Dundrum

Wed 28 Jan An Grianán Letterkenny

Thur 29 Jan Riverbank Newbridge

Fri 30  Jan Watergate Kilkenny

Sat 31 Jan Seamus Ennis Arts Centre Naul


Tue 3 Feb Dunamaise Portlaoise

Thur 5 Feb Birr Arts Centre

Fri 6 Feb 69 O’Connell  Limerick

Sat 7 Feb Town Hall Galway

Sun 8 Feb Hawk’s Well Sligo

Tues 10 Feb Everyman Cork

Wed 11 Feb Dock Carrick-on-Shannon

Thur 12 Feb Ballina  Arts Centre

Fri 13 Feb Garter Lane Waterford

Sat 14 Feb Garter Lane Waterford

Tue 17 Feb Roscommon Arts Centre

Wed 18 Feb Linenhall Castlebar

Thur 19 Feb Marketplace Armagh

Fri 20 Feb Siamsa Tralee


Wed 4 Mar Garage Monaghan

Fri 6 Mar Glor Ennis